Disney World replacement products for those who have special dietary needs
Do you have special dietary needs or food preferences such as non-dairy products?
On this page we’ll:
- Discuss alternative, allergen free and special dietary needs products that Disney World uses in some of its restaurants.
- Give you links to many of the companies Disney uses, for your own research.
Disney World offers alternative products in some restaurants and stores
To support their guests with special dietary needs, many Disney restaurants and some stores regularly stock alternative food products. These may include products that are free of:
- Tree nuts
For example they may have gluten free baked goods, dairy free milk and ice cream, etc.
The Special Dietary Requests department can give you their most up to date lists of these products in use at some of the Disney restaurants, and the locations where you can usually find them.
Remember – Things can change!
The products being carried at any location throughout Disney (Disney owned and non-Disney owned) can change. Each restaurant can stop carrying certain products, they can run out, or they can replace the products with others. Also product ingredients can change at any time, and manufacturing processes can also change.
If you have a serious allergy or other health condition that makes it essential to avoid certain ingredients, take the time to research. Look into the products Disney uses in advance of your trip to verify that they meet your requirements. When you visit a Disney restaurant, verify the product being used before eating, and make sure it meets your special dietary needs.
Non-Disney owned restaurants may be different
Some non-Disney owned restaurants may have alternative products, but many don’t. Those who do may be using products that are different from those carried in the Disney-owned restaurants.
Below I’ll list a sampling of the specific company’s and product lines currently in use at designated Disney-owned restaurants in the Disney parks, resorts and entertainment areas. Please note that this is not a complete list. There are many more, and these lines can change at any time. Also remember to verify the ingredients before using. They include:
- AllergyFree Foods (Currently their website isn’t working). Breaded Country-Fried Chicken Tenders. The company says that this is made without wheat/gluten, eggs, milk, peanuts, soy, tree nuts, and fish, and shellfish. Their products may contain corn.
- Amy’s products (www.amys.com). The company says that all their products are made with organic ingredients and are vegetarian (no meat, fish, poultry or eggs). Some Amy’s products are dairy-free, but if cheeses are used, they’re made from pasteurized rBST hormone free mild, and don’t contain animal enzymes or rennet. Some Amy’s products are gluten-free such as Rice Macaroni & Cheese, Cheese Pizza and Marinara Sauce.
- Rice Dream products (www.dreamplantbased.com). Includes ice cream and milk substitutes. On their website you can see which of their products are free of gluten and dairy, and which are vegan or kosher. Although we didn’t see it posted on their website, Disney has some of their products listed as free of egg, tree nuts, and peanuts.
- Silk Products (www.silk.com). Includes Soy Milk and Almond Milk. Silk says these products are free of gluten, dairy, lactose and casein, and that they’re vegan and kosher (OU-D). They make a few products with nuts, and all products are made on shared equipment.
- Kikkoman Soy Milk (www.pearlsoymilk.com). The company says that this product does not contain any animal-based proteins, is lactose-free, vegan and organic.
- Tofutti (www.Tofutti.com). Disney carries cheese and ice cream substitutes. The company says that their products are soy-based, kosher (Parve), vegan, and free of dairy, cholesterol and lactose.
- Ener-G Foods (www.ener-g.com). This includes a variety of bread replacement products such as hot dog and hamburger buns, dinner rolls, brown rice sliced bread and rice pizza shells. These should be free of wheat, gluten, dairy, casein, peanuts, and tree nuts. Some individual products may be free of other items as well. Disney also uses their low sodium egg replacement powder, which is free of the items above as well as yeast. It’s low in protein.
Tip: The rolls are quite bland and on the hard side. If you’re at a full-service restaurant, request that the rolls be heated to soften them up. Add butter and now you have a treat with some flavor.
- Enjoy Life products (www.enjoylifefoods.com). The company changed their packaging to say that their products are “allergy Friendly” rather than allergen free. However on their website they say that their products are free of wheat, gluten, dairy, peanuts, tree nuts soy, eggs, lactose, casein, and fish and shellfish. The product most commonly found around Disney is the Chocolate Chip Cookies. Here’s a comment from one Disney diner:
“I got excited when they told me I could get chocolate chip cookies. My husband was chowing down on a regular cookie that was large, soft and full of chips. I was surprised when they handed me the package. Inside I could feel a very small, hard cookie. It didn’t taste that great either. It was disappointing. I’ve got to give Disney props though for carrying these types of items, but it will go down easier if you have realistic expectations.”
- Follow Your Heart (followyourheart.com). Includes vegan mozzarella cheese which the company says is free of eggs, milk, wheat, gluten, corn, yeast and starch. It does contain soy.
- French Meadow Bakery (frenchmeadow.com). Includes brownies and chocolate chip cookies which the company says are free of gluten. They’re manufactured on shared equipment with soy.
- MorningStar Farms (www.morningstarfarms.com). The black bean burger is vegetarian but not vegan since it contains egg. It also contains wheat, soy and milk.
- GNI brand (gnibakery.com). Gluten free Breads.
- Red Bridge gluten-free beer (www.redbridgebeer.com). This is available at most full-service restaurants and at all the Disney owned lounges. Remember that no alcohol is served in Magic Kingdom except in the Be Our Guest Restaurant.
- Namaste Foods (www.namastefoods.com). Includes pancake & waffle mix and cake mix. They state that their products are free of wheat, gluten, soy, corn, potato, dairy, casein, peanuts and tree nuts.
- San-J (www.san-j.com). Includes Tamari Soy Sauce which is gluten and wheat free.
- Van’s Natural Foods (www.vansfoods.com). Includes waffles which should be free of gluten and wheat.
- Udi’s Gluten Free (www.udisglutenfree.com). Bread, muffins, cookies, pizza shells.
- OMG It’s Gluten Free (www.omgitsglutenfree.com) brownies and baked goods.
- Erin McKenna’s Bakery (www.erinmckennasbakery.com). This company makes baked goods which are free of refined sugar, gluten, wheat, soy, dairy, and egg. They’re vegan and kosher. BabyCakes NYC has a shop in Disney Springs in addition to having their goods carried in a small number of Disney-owned restaurants.
- Food for Life (www.foodforlife.com). Breads, cereals, pastas and waffles. They call their products Low Glycemic & Diabetic Friendly. They’re kosher, use sprouted grains and no flour, no GMO’s (genetically modified organisms), no refined sugars, nothing artificial, no preservatives or shortenings. Some of their products are free of gluten, dairy, casein and egg.
- Bob’s Red Mill (www.bobsredmill.com). Gluten free flours, cereals, baking mixes and grains.
- Kinnikinnick Foods Inc. (www.Kinnikinnick.com) including gluten-free Cinnamon Sugar Donuts, Vanilla Glazed Donuts, chocolate Chip Muffins, Blueberry Muffins, Tapioca Cinnamon Raisin Bagels, and New York Style Bagels.
Tip: The gluten free muffins are very small compared to the muffins usually sold by Disney, and some chefs will give you two muffins for the price of one. You can request this, but it’s up to the chef’s discretion.
As I mentioned, there are many more. Disney can special order some products upon request. For example, Cambrooke Foods (www.cambrookefoods.com) offers low protein products, and as of this writing they’re available with a 2 week advance notice.
For more information on managing with special dietary needs at Disney visit here.
For more information from us on Disney World Dining visit here.
For more information on Disney World dining with special dietary needs, visit here.
For more Disney World planning tips, check out this page here:
Easy Steps for Planning Your Trip to Disney World
Join our Facebook Group!!!!
Come meet me there, ask any questions, share your knowledge and just enjoy getting to know other Disney fanatics in our facebook group called Walt Disney World Made Easy for Everyone.
Also join me on Pinterest here.
GET UPDATES, NEWS & TIPS (IT’S FREE!!!)
Sign up below to stay updated on the newest information, tips and tricks to help you plan your perfect Disney World trip!